In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

With the serious problem of inflation, the price of a flat is getting more unaffordable year in, year out. However, there is still a bunch of people who prefer to own one instead of renting in some countries. I, personally, believe that it is essential to have one according to Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. This essay will discuss why might this case be and its advantages. First and foremost, it is a serious problem when an elder person does not have his own accommodation since most landlords are not willing to lend to someone who is going to die. Secondly, although the cost of a dwelling is higher and higher, it is still worth investing in it compared to some unsteady stocks. Like in Taiwan, the average price now is nearly five times as much as the one in ten years which causes a trend of investing houses. In this case, more and more people believe spending a bunch of money on a house can bring many benefits to them. There are so many merits to having own residence. The first reason is freedom the fact that individuals can do whatever they want to do in their own house. It is annoying that some landlords would set up unreasonable regulations for their tenants. In addition to the first reason, owners can freely customize the exterior and interior of their houses such as changing the front yard and painting the wall as they want. To conclude, although it seems not a very reasonable expenditure in the short term, I think buying a house has to be considered a long-term investment. The merits of it might give people more than they thought previously.