It will be better to have wide use of driverless car for individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Since automotive technology is advancing further with each passing decade, the once impossible dream of driverless cars has become a near reality. In my estimation, this development can aid both individuals and society on the grounds that it fosters greater convenience, safety and accessibility. At the individual level, driverless cars make driving more convenient and accessible. First of all, drivers can utilize their spare time for more enjoyable activities in an autonomous car. As these cars can drive autonomously and do not require the driver’s attention, they are free to read a book, play games or talk with their family without having to look at the road, for example, thus making the road-going experience more tolerable and liberating. Secondly, driverless cars offer greater accessibility for motorists who often have difficulty driving, such as senior citizens and disabled individuals. Such vehicles can afford those people the freedom of independent car travel while also posing little to no risk to drivers around them. In addition, self-driving cars are beneficial to society since they are less likely to cause traffic accidents. As these cars are equipped with sensory technology that perceives the surrounding environment better than humans can, they can make split- second decisions such as speeding up, slowing down or braking to an immediate stop to keep passengers and nearby vehicles safe. As a result, traffic safety will improve by a large margin and the likelihood of traffic fatalities will be lessened. According to McKinsey, an American management firm, it is predicted that by the mid-21st century, when self-driving cars have become ubiquitous, the rate of traffic accidents in the US will be reduced by 90%, thus potentially saving millions of lives. In conclusion, owing to the more pleasurable driving experience and accessibility for less capable drivers, as well as their potential to reduce the rate of traffic accidents, I believe that driverless cars will be of great benefit to individuals and society. In order to popularize driverless cars, they must be permitted by the government to operate on all paved roads.