Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some specialists that starting learning a second language at the primary level is better than at the secondary level. I think the downside of this outweighs the upside because young pupils may have a great workload as a result. On the one hand, young pupils are better language learners than older ones. Primary school-aged children are at an early stage of learning and therefore tend to be very open to new ideas. That to say, they are less likely to find the different of pronunciation and grammar of a foreign language strange and difficult to learn than their counterparts at secondary school. However, I do not think this gives them a major advantage in life because many people become successful either financially or professionally, without mastering a second language. On the other hand, studying a new language at primary school can greatly increase young pupils ' workloads. One more language to learn means more classes to take and more school work to do. For instance, in Egypt, where English is compulsory at all primary schools. Egyptian pupils spent often around half an hour every weekday just on their English homework. Moreover, to outperform their peers, many of them join weekend English classes. Consequently, I think this puts young pupils at a great disadvantage because at this age, they should spend more time enjoying leisure activities than burying themselves in academic tasks. In conclusion, although primary school-aged children tend to be good at acquiring a foreign language, I believe this advantage is far outweighed by the disadvantages of the heavy workloads that come with it.