Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and societies To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that social media is impacting our daily lives both on an individual and societal level. However, it is hard to deny that people are using it for various online negative activities. So, I agree with the given statement and I have ample points to prove my stand. To begin with, one of the biggest issues that can be seen easily is that individuals like to spend their time chatting with friends online or watching movies, hence they have no time for family. Back in the day, families used to come together to spend some quality time, but nowadays, everybody likes to chat or video call on WhatsApp rather than meet offline. For example, a survey conducted by BBC shows that up to seventy per cent of youngster like to spend their time online, which is a matter of concern. Moreover, it is hard to ignore when it comes to bullying and online stalking. People who spend most of their time on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter are more likely to get stalked by online predators. Moving further, it also impacts their social life, as it becomes hard for them to make friends in school or at work. For instance, a report submitted by Times Magazine shared that teenagers are the ones who get the worst out of it as it becomes hard for them when it comes to social networking. To conclude, I agree that people of all ages like to escape the real world, where they can forget about their stressful life, but spending too much time on the phone and especially chatting with random folks is not positive either.