Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Music is, without a doubt, the food to our souls. While some people believe that it can bring people of different backgrounds and ages together, I agree with them only to a certain extent. The reason why I do not agree wholeheartedly is that I think there are more important ways, other than music, which can get people closer. It is a fact that musical pieces can slightly close the culture gap. The reason for this is, as people say, that it is a universal language which can cross the barrier of different tongues. When a person listens to Beethoven, for instance, the music touches him, regardless of what language he speaks or what part of the world he is from. In my opinion, this is an incredible power that music has over us. However, albeit its universality, I do not believe that it has a significant role in bringing people together. There are better alternatives that could make them understand each other despite their differences, one of which is stories. This is because stories have been humans' way of communicating their emotions and thoughts since the invention of language. Stories have been passed between generations, by word of mouth at first, then by the written word. To illustrate, we currently understand ancient religions and cultures thanks to stories from the Illiad more than the music of the time. To sum up, I partially agree that music can contribute to a universal understanding between cultures and countries, nevertheless, I believe that stories can be a more efficient way to reach this goal.