Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

A lot of people in today's world believe that social sites such as Facebook have negatively impacted both individuals and society. I totally believe this statement because it serves as a distraction to a lot of people to tend to focus on their work or studies but are unable to. This essay will discuss the negative impacts and a conclusion thereafter. Firstly, to begin with, I agree with people who believe that social media sites such as Facebook have caused a huge distraction in people's lives over the years, as people tend to spend their day surfing profiles. Therefore, this reduces the global output as people keep on procrastinating their work and as a result achieve very less per day. For example, there was an article published in a newspaper which states that heavily increased usage of Facebook leads to fraudulent activities. As a result, people come into the trap and invest their crucial time and money. Secondly, online applications have created opportunities for fraudulent individuals to set up a trap for common people. In addition, this affects the individuals and sometimes they tend to lose their valuable items and even get blackmailed. For instance, there was a report in the Sun newspaper showed that over 300 billion dollars were lost to cyber theft worldwide. Thus, a special warning should be raised to people not to disclose their personal information and stay alert to such traps. In conclusion, Facebook does not only have a negative impact but also a positive impact too, it allows you to talk to people sitting in a different country. It also, helps you keep in touch with your friends and family and at the same time avails cybercriminals activities such as blackmailing, sending unnecessary links, and setting up traps to earn people's hard earned money.