Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While there have been many great inventions in many sectors during the last century, some people argue that the personal computer is the most important invention of that time. However, I strongly disagree with this statement given the fact that there have been far more influential inventions that are equally or even more important than computers. First of all, there have been many great inventions that have revolutionized life in a way that was seemingly impossible before their launch. One obvious example would be the invention of automobiles and aeroplanes which have changed modern life completely. With the help of automobiles and other transportations, the way people commute has improved drastically and the overall development of many nations also has been on the rise. Second of all, with the help of many innovative scientific pieces of knowledge that has changed the medical and agricultural sectors in the world, the overall quality of living has dramatically improved, resulting in many positive changes to the lives of many people around the world. For example, with the invention of antibiotics and plant breeding methods, many people were able to survive and overcome deadly diseases and famine. Admittedly, the invention of computers is by no means unimportant as it led to various other inventions and technological advances that could benefit humankind immensely. Yet I believe that there are other far more revolutionary inventions that have helped us more in terms of living a higher quality life. To conclude, I firmly believe that the invention of computers has been marked as only one of the greatest inventions of the last century but not as the single best entity.