Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both short and long term?

It is common that a lot of women and men in this day and age are concerned about the big amounts of household waste. In my opinion, this is one of the biggest problems facing the world today. There are many issues, if you ask me, with this situation. In the first place, it creates environmental pollution. The world's population is much bigger now than it was in the past. More people means more garbages. As a rule, plastic waste like bottles, bags and so on is not easily biodegradable. As result, these materials affect both land and ocean wildlife ecosystems. For instance, plastics that are ended in the ocean have caused numerous turtle and sea animal deaths. As well as this, these materials require more landfills. Turning to the possible solutions, there are a lot of these, the way I see it. For one thing, everyone can lower the level of household waste. We can recycle our rubbishes. To name but one example, we can re-use glass, paper and plastic bottles instead of factories re-make them, which creates carbon emissions. We also can bring our own shopping bags instead of using plastic bags from the shopping mall. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this matter in my country, China, is much the same as it was across the world over. My home city Lhasa is a classic case in point. Here, the most trash is caused by tourists. This contaminated water sources like rivers, lakes and the like. In conclusion, there are no advantages in this scenario, only disadvantages. If we do not act to reduce the problem, it will grow worse in the years to come.