Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree?

At the present, people tend to think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. I greatly disagree with this statement and I will be discussing the reason I disagree. Firstly, I think that people just need to have native people of that country talking to them on a daily basis. When you go to their country there is no guarantee that you will learn from what they are saying or understand their language. Looking at the stats show that people learn more from talking to the native than from living in the country. In my experience, my school have lots of American teachers, but most of them are not fluent in the Thai language. On the other hand, you can find the native more easily from living in that country than living in another country. You might have more conversation and increased usage of reading because of the sign around you. In the modern days, this is not always the case because people travel more often. This causes every country to have a translation in every sign and people from that country have more chances of speaking another language. The effectiveness of learning might decrease because of people trying to speak your language or having a sign in your language. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this statement. Although, living in that country might encourage you to learn more, but not for everyone. In the modern days, there will be more use of your language all over the world. You should commit to finding natives to talk to and let them help you improve your language.