Some people think children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People differ in their opinions on whether children should be given the freedom to make mistakes or they should be prevented from doing so by adults. Both these views are acceptable, and it depends on the age and the type of mistakes they commit. When analyzing the benefits of the first option, the most tangible one is the psychology of learning. To be precise, early childhood is the time when the children are extremely curious about their circumstances, and mostly they would like to experience the result of their actions. For example, even if the child has got having excess salt is not good, his curiosity would persuade him to do so. Once he realizes that it causes extreme thirst, he will never repeat the mistake. On the contrary, the second group feels that it is dangerous for the future of children if they are not prevented from making mistakes. For instance, out of curiosity or peer pressure, an older child can be in touch with bad companies and may use harmful substances like drugs. As the child is not too young, the chances of disclosing the incident to elders are scarce. Slowly and steadily, he might be involved in this more frequently, and eventually might become an addict. In my opinion, making children free to commit small mistakes at their early stages of life helps them to learn things more effectively. However, when the child grows older, they may commit serious mistakes if there is lax supervision, and this might have long-lasting impacts on their life. In conclusion, it is clear that whether or not a child should be made free to make mistakes is a question that can be answered only based on the circumstances.