Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Developed countries have been providing financial aid to third world countries for decades, but this has not changed the economic plight of poorer countries. I totally agree that the aid should be replaced b y other more effective forms of support, because of problems of corruption and poor economic management in these countries. The primary reason why financial aid is ineffective in easing poverty in recipient countries is because the level of corruption in poorer countries. The majority of the fund is misappropriated by officials before it trickles down to the people. As the leaders in these areas are not democratically elected and have a strong grip in power, there is little leverage from the people to bring about change. To illustrate this, we can take a look at African countries, which have constantly received financial support from Western countries, but remains undeveloped and financially inadequate. Another reason why funding is not effective is that the recipient government does not have sound economic policies and good governance in place. This means that these governments are not capable of managing the funds properly and the aid will be lost or misused. Therefore, ensuring governments are able to manage funds before the money is provided is crucial for positive outcomes from this financial aid. In conclusion, I reiterate my strong view that other types of support other than money are necessary because financial aid is often misused by recipient countries due to corruption and financial mismanagement. Thus, I recommend long term strategies to be put in place to ensure financial aid can be phased out.