Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether resources should be spent on traffic infrastructure rather than using them on the system of public transport bears some consideration. Critics, including this writer, believe that this phenomenon could be fully deniable due to environmental costs and continuous demand for upgrading. As a matter of fact, upgrading roads and motorways would cause harm to the environment. This is due to the consequence of human construction activities which would emit an insane amount of carbon- and sulfur-included substances. So as a result of this, it would lead to a great contribution to the greenhouse effect and other deteriorating phenomena such as acid rain. For example, according to VnExpress in 2022, the total amount of carbon emission released without the account of exhaust fumes coming out of vehicles is about 22%, approximately a fifth compared to the whole global emitted carbon. Therefore, making it a losing investment in traffic infrastructure, especially those suffering from heavy air contamination. One vital thing that must also be addressed is the always-ongoing desire to expand the roads and motorways. Assumingly, as the population keep growing over time, there will be eventually more demand for personal vehicles thus leading to more upgrades to the traffic infrastructure to be dealt with. Then as a consequence of this, it would take over more space and then cease with problems caused by overpopulation such as housing, resources and living space. Therefore, it should be tackled precisely if they want to expand the traffic infrastructure. In conclusion, budgets should not be spent on upgrading roads and motorways due to the fact of environmental consequences and potential population-booming issues. Therefore, making public transport a safe option to invest in.