at school, children should either be taught to compete or to cooperate. in your opinion, which form of education would best benefit society as a whole? describe both sides of the argument and explain your own opinion

Education is the bedrock of every society and as such everyone should have a touch of it, be it formal or informal. The educational system is characterized by two major learning methods which are competitive learning and cooperative learning. This has led to a wide range of debates on which learning method should be applied in teaching children in schools for the good of society. In my opinion, it will be better for students to be taught how to cooperate with one another than to compete. This essay will present a comparative analysis of both views. In learning competitively, every student would tend to strive to become the best in their classes. This will make the students put more effort into their studies. However, this could lead to some emotional traumas for pupils who are not performing well. For instance, a child who puts in his best to study and ends up not getting good grades may end up seeing himself as a failure. If the students are taught in a cooperating manner, they will always ensure that they contribute meaningfully to their course work. For example, Jane may not be a bright student but she will feel fulfilled owing to the fact that she is always making contributions in class when called upon. This, in, turn is what is needed for society to continue in the cause of development. To conclude, competitive learning is an essential part of day to day learning as it brings about the best in the pupils. However, it can lead to low self-esteem. On the contrary, cooperative learning brings about collective ideas which are vital for societal advancement. In summary, the educational system should have a mix of competitive learning and cooperative learning but more cooperative learning.