In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

These days, it is believed that in many nations, children are implied that anything can be achieved if they give it the best shot. Thus, this essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this phenomenon. On the one hand, when children are taught to have the motivation, they will be inspired to overcome circumstances to reach achievements. To make this clear, achieving a reward is probably the best feeling for kids because their given efforts have been recognized by their parents or even their teachers. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo is currently one of the best footballers, who got multifarious personal as well as team awards, and has become an inspiration for many rising stars in the world. Not only young talented players in the world but also many youths who are chasing after their dream to become as successful as him. As a result, children who are given this message eventually will be motivated to pursue their goals. Step by step, from a good academic performance at school to the future where they can make ends meet, to avoid different obstacles in life. On the other hand, despite mentioned benefits, this trend can also be disadvantageous and affects one’s health or self-esteem. This is because a child is unable to accomplish a given task and burns out due to working too hard in a higher pursuit. To illustrate, in many countries in Asia, parents are always expecting their children to bring home good marks. In order to attain it, they will try to do their best no matter what will happen to their health. Therefore, many cases have been recorded for exhaustion, and even worse is depression which has a high percentage leads to committed suicide. Another reason for this downtrend is that while their jobs are done in an impeccable way, teachers or parents might not give them a compliment or maybe a worthy recognition which can cause deterrent effects. In conclusion, giving children the message that they can achieve anything through hard work is highly beneficial, as it becomes a source of inspiration and comfort. However, there are detrimental consequences that impact directly their body as well as their pride.