Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, the very daunting and overconsuming society we live in puts in a crucial and controversial position the question of food consumption. Indeed, since the twentieth century and the enhancement of myriad industrial techniques of sugar production, the latter has been an undeniable resource for eating. However, subsequent health issues have stricken within sugar consuming populations and thus, strategies could be settled such as increases in prices. I am of the opinion that other strategies should be put forward to inhibit that propensity. Thus, it begs the question: Is this strategy a good alternative to limit the selling of sugary food? This essay aims to answer this question with a supporting rationale. To begin with, one reason that may underpin the counter-thesis of that development is that, while the richest will not be significantly impacted by such policies, the poorest will certainly undergo their striking effects. Not only it would impoverish people, but also will it accentuates gaps between social classes. Owing to this, some will have access to more comfort than others and it would then be a symbol of an anti-progressive civilization. Moreover, even though people could voluntarily avoid any kind of sweet snacks, a plethora of brands has the uncontrollable proclivity of mixing sugar with every edible thing. Hence, with such a plan, their prices would clearly increase and dramatically impact the ones in need. In addition, another argument that could put aside such reforms would be that other possibilities can be highlighted. As an example, one of them is, that rather than directly impacting consumers, sanctions should be focused on corporations which are the drivers of the emanating problems. Consequently, they would balance their use of sugar and it would finally result in meliorative effects on citizens’ wellness. Subsequently, an evolution that has already been applied in some occidental countries is to create some health labels that explicit the sugar rates. To conclude, albeit rising taxes seems to be a wise choice at first, in order to prune the adverse effects of sugar, more equality promoting progress could be elaborated.