Instead of asking the government to bear the cost of higher education, students should pay their own tuition fees themselves. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The funding of higher education is a focal point of contemporary societal discussions. While there is a prevailing belief that the government should subsidise all universities to ensure access for eligible students, I firmly advocate that only individuals from low socio-economic status should be exempted from tuition fees. Firstly, the staggering cost of educational costs could act as a pressure for students to approach their opportunities more seriously. If students are burdened with full financial responsibility either through personal savings or loans from relatives, they are likely to exert maximum effort to complete all courses and obtain a degree promptly. The sense of urgency, driven by the potential financial repercussions of failing exams, could be a powerful motivator that might diminish if education is freely accessible. In addition, individuals pursuing advanced education who bear the sole responsibility for their tuition contribute to creating an environment where governmental financial resources become increasingly available for other levels of education. As university students have reached adulthood and are capable of earning a living, they can set aside part of their income to finance their academic qualifications. By comparison, primary and secondary education deserve more government expenditure as students are still deemed as minors, who are not legally permitted to work as paid employees. On the other hand, it may be reasonable to make some exceptions and provide less well-off students with free education. Tuition support from the government could incentivise these young students to attend college and enhance their knowledge, thus they are able to find employment in this knowledge-based economy. Without a tertiary-level qualification, they might end up working in low-paid, manual work, while their counterparts from well-off backgrounds dominate high-paying, professional jobs, such as medicine and law, which require advanced qualifications. In conclusion, students from disadvantaged backgrounds could be made exempt from academic charges, while it is not acceptable to abolish educational expenses for everyone.