Do hink tkat women are important in American Literature?

The position of women not only in society but also in literature generally was much more complicated than had men. It is evident that women play an important role in American literature. On the other hand, they were viewed as weak and irrelevant to all things concerning politics and literature. It is a reason why they were rare in American literature or they have to use pen names to say their own opinion in the 19th century. This essay will focus on a notable piece of literature written by Charlotte Perkins Gilman and her role in American literature. Firstly, Charlotte Perkins Gilman was an American feminist, writer, lecturer and publisher. She was a leading theorist of the women ´s movement in the United States. In the 1890s she wrote a feminist short story “The Yellow Wallpaper”. Readers meet an unnamed narrator through her journal she has recently given birth and doctors have diagnosed her with a nervous condition and prescribed a rest cure. A medical protocol that forced patients to abstain from expressions and activity. Secondly, men and women have different points of perspective. Men are more practical, while women are more emotional. John as a physician only observes what is visible in his wife‘s physic. For him, his wife is in not too bad condition. It is very different from what the wife feels. She is in a serious state of health of her mental disorder. The narrator tells every experience in her paper that she truly suffers from depression. The symptoms that she is in pain of depression are followed. On the other hand, we can find a connection with the writer because she suffers a depression for which she was treated. I personally think that writing was her attempt to escape from reality and settle with her illness. In addition, in the rising action of the story, the narrator explains that the rom has tattered yellow wallpaper with an intricate pattern. As time passes she becomes more and more paranoid about the colour and the smell and increasingly fascinated by the pattern of the wallpaper. From my point of view, the Yellow wallpaper symbolically represents Patriarchal dominance and the destruction caused by gender roles in the Victorian Era. We can find here other similarities can be drawn between features of the setting and elements of Victorian Society. The house symbolizes not only her potential but also being trapped in the window. It is traditionally a symbol which represents an aspect of possibilities but now it becomes a view she does not want to see. Finally, an interesting point of view of Gilman’s work describes the article “Imaginative Power in The Yellow Wallpaper” written by Selina Jamil. “As Gilman uses dramatic irony in the narrator´s word, “my ghostliness,” the latter, whose “romantic/ sensibility finds expression in imaginative vitality, gives intuitive expression to her own emotional condition as she unwittingly associates her shadowy self (“my”) with women in her segmented and stratified environment, where like apparitions, they are generally dismissed as substantial.” To conclude, this story is more of a feminist political declaration of independence for women. Moreover, it tries to save females from the gradual process of madness and helps them escape from the cruel oppression of patriarchy. It has successfully condemned the wrong notions about women and has shown a way out of the labyrinth of domineering masculinity. This writer has shown her followers the importance of writing on these topics and not being afraid to express their views even though they may have an impact on their lives in society and on other generations.