The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishments for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, dealing with the development of roads’ safety has become a major problem worldwide. In some countries, severe punishments have been imposed for driving offences. However, I strongly believe that it is not the best solution to prevent car accidents on the roads. The effects of proper instruction, hardening the test of the driving license for fresh candidates, and increase of roads’ quality might considerably have better results that will be discussed through following paragraphs. Firstly, nearly any driver needs to be instructed about driving techniques and different conditions of driving a car even though they have received a driving license. As an example, in Vancouver, which is famous for low rate of car accident, people see instructions and alerts about safe driving nearly everywhere such as city advertisements and television programs. In fact, the more we are aware of the danger of driving offences, the more carefully we drive on the roads. Consequently, well instructed people drive concisely which will prevent them to experience car accident on roads. Secondly, as the procedure of getting driving license get harder, people with high ability of driving make it to pass the driving test. Statistics reveal that after applying major changes in driving test fundamentals in Canada, the rate of car accidents declined in 1951. It’s clear that, people who have passed the test successfully would be a better driver due to having more practical and harder tests. In conclusion, manipulating the procedures of driving exams and giving candidates more challenging test would be a proper solution which has shown its results formerly. Finally, old vehicles sometimes might be difficult to control. Based on police statistics, nearly 72 percent of car accident in 2021 was for the automobiles which produced before 1995. In other words, drivers have more ability to control the vehicle in new-brand cars. To summarize, I believe that well instruction of people, more challenging driving tests, and replacing old vehicles with new ones are the best solutions for improving road safety. I believe that there would be better solutions in the future such as the development of cars with artificial intelligence, however currently we can not rely on theorical and unexperimented ways.