In most countries, despite the benefits of cycling, fewer and fewer people are using bicycles as a means of transportation. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the benefits of cycling, fewer people are using bicycles as a way of transportation in most countries. A reason for this could be that cycling requires physical effort; however, this issue could be tackled by awareness campaigns about the advantages of replacing other means of transportation with cycling. I believe that one of the reasons that refrain people from using bicycles in their everyday life is that it is physically demanding. To illustrate, cycling is considered a cardiac exercise that raises the heart rate and makes people sweat. They, consequently, usually head towards more comfortable options, like cars and public buses. My friends, for instance, always prefer to commute in their cars because they are faster and more convenient Nevertheless, there are methods to deal with this issue, and one of them is spreading awareness through Media. If we talked more about the financial, environmental and health benefits of cycling, more people would consider this option. For example, my brother decided to use his bicycle to go to work when he watched an advertisement on Facebook about the various advantages of commuting via bicycle. Since most people spend much of their time on the internet or watching television, this could be the fastest and most efficient way to reach as many of them as possible. To sum up, although there are plenty of benefits to cycling, people use it less nowadays because they have more comfortable options. One way to deal with this problem is by promoting awareness through television programmes and social media.