In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies promote their products by highlighting their novel features. This essay discusses the reason for this trend of advertising, and whether this brings about a constructive movement for the industry. There is a widespread belief that newer goods are better, either in appearance or in function. The motivation for stressing the innovative features of the advertised product is to make it stand out from other similar goods. Consumers will be drawn to the promoted qualities, and gain an impression that this item is superior, either in appearance or in function. As more potential buyers are attracted by the advertisement, they are more likely to make an actual purchase, which can create revenue and income for the company. An obvious example would be Iphone, which has updated versions every year, with press conferences boosting its latest updates and advancement in function. As a result, this brings in millions of dollars of income for the brand. This clearly illustrates the most successful form of advertisement. In my opinion, I firmly believe this trend is advantageous for both the industry and its consumers. Firms can focus on developing new technologies to bring advancement to their merchandise. In order to boost business, companies will push limits for changes, which can stimulate competition and constructive growth in the industry. Moreover, consumers can gain a deeper understanding of their purchases, as well as enjoy the benefit of a well-designed and highly functional product. In conclusion, the ultimate goal of highlighting new features of products is to promote sales and purchase. It is my firm belief that creates a win-win situation, boosting sales and income for industries and bringing about understanding of products for consumers.