Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that the rise in living standards can certainly result in environmental problems as more resources are being used by human beings, while others argue awareness and responsibility will be gained by people once they have a higher standard of living. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this viewpoint to a large extent as we should treat this problem globally. To begin with, the improvement in living standard cause shortage and pollution. Firstly, the migration from villages to cities raises the demand for land, where landfills or lobs may be done as a way to satisfy human wants. Therefore, habitats will be lost and the ecosystem will be damaged. Moreover, the demand for travelling has also increased as people earn a higher income. For instance, more private vehicles will be bought. This results in the greenhouse effect owing to a large amount of pollutant particles emission and polluting the air. Nevertheless, people with high living standards tend to pay more attention to environmental issues. As the developing countries prioritise economic development rather than protecting the ecosystem, the state may spend few efforts and resources to cope with this problem. For example, in order to boost the economy, the supervision of toxic wastes was weak in the 19th century of China. People only take little or no responsibility for damaging the environment. Therefore, the state can put more resources and effort to educate its citizens once the living standard is high. Thus, society may learn to care more about their living place rather than themselves. In conclusion, although developed countries pay more attention to the environment, it is difficult for them to improve the global situation. As higher living standards enhance the power and ability of purchasing, more resources will run off and pollute the Earth.