In many country women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate that women should be permitted women to have one-month maternity leave after giving birth instead of working. In my opinion, while this phenomenon has both pros and cons, its merits can overshadow its counterparts. Without a shadow of a doubt, this phenomenon will bring a wealth of advantages to women ’s lives, especially females’ health. Since bearing a newborn child is considered a precious moment when women must devote their full time and health in caring for the babies, having a month off will give them chances to recover. For example, in Germany, a leading developed nation in the world, females will have maternity leave more than a month to not only enhance both their physical health and well-being but also take care of newly born children. Hence, it is essential for women to have a month off after giving birth. While its positive impacts are widely acknowledged, its counterparts still exist, yet they are solvable. A long period of absence from the workplace may affect the career of the women employees. For instance, if they remain away from work for a long period, they will not be up to date with recent developments often experienced in the company, which might be a barrier in their promotion. Therefore, besides the benefits, it still brings some minor problems. In conclusion, in spite of the small disadvantages that maternity leave has, a lot of countries have considered it a necessity because it creates time for mothers to take care of their babies and time for them to rest.