It is widely thought that global tourism has a negative impact on the destinations and countries. While there is a strong case for this view, action must be taken to deal with this issue

It is widely thought that global tourism has a negative impact on the destinations and countries. While there is a strong case for this view, action must be taken to deal with this issue. There are two main reasons why local residents consider international tourism as a cause of several problems in their countries. One reason is that it may have an adverse effect on traditional customs and indigenous practices as foreigners are often insensitive towards the feelings of local residents. They do not understand the culture of the destinations they visit so they may wear unsuitable clothes. They can have a negative impact on local young people here as the young ones can copy foreigners’ fashion and habits which are inappropriate in their own countries. Another reason is that global tourists often pollute and litter beautiful spots. As they think that this is not their place so they hold no responsibility for it whatsoever. They can litter everywhere and many places have been spoiled by this lack of respect for the local environment. Measures must be taken by government and international bodies to change negative attitudes. Firstly, the undoubted economic benefits of international tourism ought to be widely spread through media. The fact that tourist spending money in shops and restaurants help raise the GDP of that country and create more jobs for local people needs to be publicized more. Secondly, people should raise awareness more about respecting beautiful destinations in the world. There should be rules and penalties for littering and ruining places. Tour guides also need to explain to foreigners about the culture of the specific places they visit so they can act more appropriately and suitably. In conclusion, only by addressing the concern of local people, negative attitudes can be changed.