In their advertising, bussinesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is a common trend today, that companies highlight the new features of their products that make them stand apart from the rest. This is often used as a marketing strategy to attract the attention of customers and propel them into buying their products. In my opinion, the emphasis on novelty in a company's product has both positive and negative impacts. On a positive note, companies gain more attention to their products and customers are often enticed by their product's distinct characteristics. In contrast, businesses can deceive their buyers by making claims regarding the innovations of their products that are not true and if these are not well examined, can eventually lead to harm. The main reason for businesses to emphasize the significance of their commodities is to draw the attention of buyers from a market filled with goods that sell on a similar scale. Highlighting the new features of a product is one of the best marketing strategies that can catch the eye of customers. For example, in our modernized era, when companies selling digital products highlight the prominent features of their device, users are attracted to them easily as they can make comparisons with other brands who sell similar ones. One of the main advantages of this marketing strategy is that, companies gain an insurmountable amount of attention when they focus on the innovations of their product and as a result, they make huge profits by attracting customers who easily fall for this. For instance, cosmetic brands compete on a large scale to make their products highly appealing to a society where people want to look glamourous and stunning. On the other hand, this can often be used as a gimmick to promote duplicate products that might have very few features of the actual commodity. If consumers are not vigilant about scrutinizing the quality of the product, they are sure to be prey for this. For example, the remake of top-class brands that sell good quality products can often be sold in businesses that make false claims. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that emphasis on the novelty of products by companies has both positive and negative aspects. Positively, companies again more attention and profit, while on a negative aspect it can deceive consumers.