A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honor, kindness, and trust no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is widely observed that the criteria of human being evaluation have dramatically reformed. Nowadays, individuals mainly pay attention to the materialistic aspects of lifestyle, while the traditional approach to a person's worth, which is based on the soul's virtuousness, seems to be neglected. Personally, I also maintain that people have altered their points of reference and the main arguments of my concern will be discussed in this essay. First and foremost, actual bonding and friendship seem to play a secondary role in one's daily life. More particular, people are very dedicated to their jobs and generally focus on to the pursuit of a career and enormous income. Hence, they built power relationships throughout their business environment, in order to exploit the dominant networking to a higher position or earnings. This can be clearly illustrated by recent research findings proving that only the 23% of the questioners after 40 years old spend time during the week with their college friends, while the majority of the research sample strongly believe that it is waste of time going out with people without gaining social recognition. Another point to support my argument is that media broadcast stories only for rich and famous people, no matter if they have committed criminal actions. Indeed, television programs are full of success stories of people, who achieved created an enormous property, even if they were against the law or didn’t pay taxes. For example, the case of Jordan Belfort otherwise "the wolf of the Wallstreet" became a role model for many American teenagers, even if that person cheated on the stock market and made many financial employees to lose their occupations. In conclusion, although the urban lifestyle urges persons to follow superficial directions, I insist on the superiority of generosity and caring as the pillars which can diachronically be helpful for anyone. Therefore, the state and educators should establish a campaign pointing out the significance of benevolence in humankind evolution.