Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to reset the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People opine differently towards how to use their lesiure time. Some of them advocate using their spare time for self-improving activities like reading, while others prefer taking a rest to clear their minds. As far as I am concerned, these two views are not necessarily mutually exclusive but a larger portion of leisure time should be allocated to the former. Nowaways, competition in the society is relentlessly fierce. In the developed world, not only plenty of jobs are being taken away by developing countries at an ever-ascending pace, but the increasingly advanced technology like artificial intelligence is also going to replace a lot of work currently performed by human as well. With the number of jobs decreasing, and the existing workers protected by powerful labour unions, the unemployment rates of young adults can be as high as 40% in some European countries. In order to compete with peers and get a job with prosperous future, it is imperative for young people to add value to themselves during leisure time. On the other hand, it is undeniable that working all day with no rest can bring extreme stress, tireness and it can sometimes lead to lower study or work efficiency, or even depression to people of certain personalities. For example, my neighbour was so depressed and felt extremely negative after pushing himself so hard before public examinations. It took him several months to recover to his normal self. To sum up, when one have spare time, it is vital to use it to upgrade himself or herself to prepare for all the challenges ahead. Yet it is still adviceable adviseable to leave some time for relaxing. To me, allocating a larger part of leisure time in the former and a smaller part in the latter strikes a good balance.