Nowadays, not many young people choose to work in the farming industry. Why do you think that is? How could young people be encouraged to work in this industry?

With urbanization, farming has become an industry with less workforce than how it used to be in the past. The new generation is walking towards the new shiny occupations and away from farming. This essay will talk about the reasons why the new generation doesn’t choose farming as their career and the possible ways to motivate people to get into the farming sector. One of the major reasons is our education model which is not designed in a way that could encourage a child to make a career in agriculture. There are relatively fewer schools and universities providing courses on farming. Another key reason is the lack of financial security. Unlike other occupations, farming completely depends on the climate which poses a real threat to the farmers around the globe. Changing patterns of rainfall sometimes destroy the cultivation and leaves nothing that could make them money. One of the possible ways to encourage youth could be by mixing farming with technology. Government should provide training about the new technologies and make the latest equipment available to farmers for rent or at minimum prices. The other extremely important factor is providing farmers with financial security. When the crops are damaged due to unfavourable climatic conditions, the government should provide the farmers with financial help. For people that don’t have their own land, Government can employ them in farming like the other occupations and provide them monthly salaries, this will give them a full-time paying job and will incline more people to work in agriculture. To summarize, farming is not very attractive to the youth because of its challenges but with the appropriate steps and enough motivation, youth can be attracted to farming. If we don’t want farmers to quit their jobs, now is the time to make amends.