Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the past few centuries, the pharmaceutical industry created a vast range of drugs in order to treat or cure multiple diseases with the help of animal experimentation. While some people believe that these creatures should not be a part of the scientific process, others argue that it is worth doing since it allows a wider range of scientific developments. This essay will explain the reasons why this method is important and, therefore, should not be made illegal. First of all, although people might judge the use of animals as cruel, it is extremely necessary since it is the best way to replicate biological conditions without human damage. Mice, for instance, can replicate humans in many physiological aspects with great accuracy. Consequently, they can prevent the use of humans on research while still allowing scientific improvement that could save an enormous number of lives. If their use was banned, either the pace of medical science would be extremely slower, or human lives would be lost. Additionally, there is no other way to mimic human physiollogy with a similar accuracy to the use of animals in the modern world. Artificial intelligence is still too artificial to replicate biology in its depht and, therefore, is not a comparable tool in the experimentation field. Alongside technological development, it might be possible that in the future there will not be the need to use non-human lives in research because devices will be capable to do that job. Until then, the current method is completely justified. To conclude, the use of our fauna in science is not replaceable without loss to humanity and to make it illegal would bring more harm than good to mankind. Animals should be used with respect and only when necessary, though.