People aim to achieve the balance between their work and lives, but few people achieve it. What are the causes of the problems? How to overcome it?

Over the last half-century or so, an increasing number of people have become concerned about the so-called work-life balance. As technology has evolved, it seems we are faced with the prospect of an increased amount of leisure time, as a result of the numerous tasks artificial intelligence will be able to perform in the near future. Theoretically, this should provide people with a greater degree of leisure time, yet increasingly it seems that people are working longer hours and spending less time on the pursuits that matter to them. The main reason people nowadays are unable to achieve an effective work-life balance is the state of the economy. Since 2008, a growing number of people have found themselves struggling to achieve the things earlier generations seemingly took for granted: property ownership, savings, generous private pensions funds etc. This has led to people sacrificing more of their own time in order to work longer hours. As a result, other areas of life have been neglected. In terms of a solution, the most realistic prescription for the economic ills affecting the world today involves some kind of restructuring of the neo- liberal economic model. This reform could effectively reduce the growing economic disparity between the rich and the poor and improve personal happiness generally. This may involve those with greater financial means shouldering a higher tax burden, reducing the pay gap between the highest and lowest earners in a company, or a number of other radical solutions traditionally associated with the politics of the left. All of these measures would alleviate the financial burdens of the majority and enable them to achieve a better work-life balance Overall, it is important to recognise that the principal causes of this state of affairs are economic, thus a radical economic solution is the what is required. Followed by the decrease in economic pressure, work-life balance is expected to be realized soon.