Students should pay the full cost of their own university studies, rather than have free higher education provided by the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an ongoing idea that students should pay the full cost of their higher education, rather than having one provided by the state. While I can imagine the reasons for such a suggestion, I completely disagree with the idea. Firstly I think that in our society we should have easier access to university and education in general. Paying expensive tuition fees will only make higher education exclusive to the richer. In countries that do not provide free or even semi-subsidized, paid university tuition students get into a huge amount of debt early in their lives. This can even discourage some of them from pursuing higher education. A country and a society can only prosper from having young well-educated and motivated people, which cannot happen if an entire generation works for example on a construction site. Secondly, every government collects taxes. This money should be an investment for the prosperity of the people. Also, this investment will be paid pay back over time since tertiary education graduates will obtain better jobs and have a positive influence on the economy. I personally believe that raising taxes is a better solution than requiring payment for university education. It closes the circle - more young adults graduate their higher education, get well-paid jobs, pay higher taxes and make room for the new generation to “spin the wheel”. In conclusion, I personally think that keeping universities free is beneficial for both the people and the state.