In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children at home instead of sending their children to school. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development.

It has become a common phenomenon that many parents choose to teach their children at home. From my perspective, it is considered to be a negative trend although home -schooling has its merits. To begin with, home -schooling has a negative impact on children’s social skills. When children study at their home, they normally spend the whole day with their parents. This means that teenagers do not have enough time to communicate with same-age friends. It is reported that friends play a pivotal role in children’s comprehensive development. If children only interact with their parents, they may find it tough to have common topics with other companions. In the long run, children are more likely to lose a sense of belonging and feel lonely in their daily life. Another pernicious and underlying effect of studying at home was that parents do not know how to educate their offspring scientifically. To elaborate on this, parents are not experts in teaching and educating, sometimes they might do extreme actions to their children. For example, home school students in China are forced to stand on the snow ground without wearing a coat just because many strict fathers reckon that this action will make children resilient. This behaviour will ruin children’s positive and detrimental to their health. Learning at home allows students to find their impetus and stimulate their potential. Unlike mainstream education systems, the distinctive characteristic of home -schooling is the flexible schedules. With the proliferation of online resources, students can choose their favorite subjects and immerse themselves in these courses. If children gain in-depth knowledge in their speciality, they are more likely to become adept. Overall, there is no denying that learning at home is instrumental in kindling children’s interest. Children have the freedom to select their courses. However, I believe that if home -schooling becomes a pervasive trend, children will lose the opportunity to interact with other contemporaries.