In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, it is believed that nothing is impossible if people try hard to reach it, while, in other countries, it is not permitted to give children this faith making them believe in this theory. However, I think it depends on the minds of kids and I will discuss both standpoints in this essay. On the one hand, it is really conducive to giving children a sense of confidence by educating the cogitation that it is possible to realize anything since they put a lot of effort. Kids would be more creative and courageous in chasing their dreams such as being an astronaut or going backpacking around the world. This faith may become their power assisting them to keep working on it even if they encounter some difficulties in the future. Like Hellen Keller who is blind and deaf when she was little overcame all the problems and successfully finish her degree in university with the belief that her teacher gave her. On the other hand, it might be negative for children when teaching them such a belief. For some kids with fragile minds, it is pretty hard for them to face the truth that not everything could be accomplished as they strive for it. In this case, children may not be willing to believe in anyone in the future and never put any effort into anything. Overall, there are so many merits for children told that they have the ability to do anything, however, it may have some harmful effects on them. In order to prevent this situation, parents should not only give them the faith to chase their dreams, but also help them mentally prepare for failure.