Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

A trend of self-employment has recently risen, and many people are leaving their regular jobs to start working on their own. This approach might have some benefits, such as better work-life balance and less work-related stress; however, workers who choose this path could face some issues along the way. Starting with the benefits of self-employment, the first one is a healthy work-life balance. This is because those who are self-employed tend to have better control of their time. If they manage their time efficiently, they can have more leisure time to spend however they like. Furthermore, work-related stress might be minimized. Many employees, for instance, report that they get bullied by their bosses, which makes them anxious. Another source of stress is the result of worrying about getting fired if they did something wrong. However, self-employment might have unfavourable consequences, one of these could be a failure. Many people who start working for themselves in Egypt, for example, tend to fail within a year or so. This could be the result of inexperience, as many of them might attempt this without learning enough about how to run a business. Another reason is that they would not get the guidance that a company would provide. Moreover, their attempt may be counter-productive. To illustrate, they might think they would spend less time working, nevertheless, they end up working more hours than they would in a regular 9 to 5 job. This is likely to happen if they lack time management skills or other skills that are required for running a business. To conclude, despite the recent popularity of self-employment, as it can provide a better work-life balance and less work-related stress, it might impact workers' life negatively, because they could fail or get worse work conditions.