Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, there has been a trend of students taking a sabbatical year between high school and university. While some people believe that there are clear advantages of taking a gap year, I would contend that the disadvantages are more significant. On the one hand, it seems undeniable that there are a variety of reasons to believe that taking a year break is beneficial. First and foremost, taking a gap year after high school helps students to have a proper break after a long journey of studying. Therefore, pupils can take vacations or travel to spend more time for themselves, thus their mental health will be enhanced significantly. Besides, there are experiences that students are not taught at schools, so this is a great chance for them to explore new things. Moreover, students may have more opportunities to discover their inner talents and abilities in different fields of work. On the other hand, I firmly believe there are more significant demerits. If students spend a prep year between high school and college, it will take an amount of time for them to recall knowledge after a long time outside the academic environment. Consequently, scholars will think it could be a waste of time and tend to think about not going to university. According to some research, younger people can approach and remember lessons faster and easier than older people, hence pupils who take a gap year before university could have difficulty accessing advanced information. For this reason, students will meet obstacles in the learning process. In conclusion, although taking a prep year can bring several advantages, it seems advisable that students should not do it because it could stifle their study process in the future.