Computers are widely used in education and teachers now play a less important role in the classroom than ever before. Do you agree or disagree?

The advancement of technology has affected how our education system runs. With more learners becoming more dependent to the technology, especially computers for their tools of learning, some people believe that the teacher’s role is becoming unnecessary. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe teachers who are humans are the life source of energy in the class and the only ones who can do direct observation to the children’s behavior in class. Teachers play a key role not only as the source of knowledge, but also act as the center who can determine the classroom’s atmosphere. Teachers can explain new knowledge and at the same time also transcend emotions, expressions and complex interactions, which can also being internalised by students. Meanwhile, computers are merely just tools that have been programmed to finish a certain objective with rigid choices and limited actions. In this case, students can not afford to have lively communication. Furthermore, students need human intelligence that is conscious enough to assess and observe how students behave. Unlike computers, which often do not possess flexible decision to expand consideration as equal as human beings can do, teachers, however, know consciously and can respond depending on how stimulus induces them. In this case, the educators can act accordingly in response to children’s behaviour. For example, children who face learning difficulties can only receive a rigid score on their academic record, if computer act as the examiners. Needless to say, the technology will certainly fail to analyse wisely the reason behind this. In conclusion, although the enhancement of technology has happened at an unprecedented pace and slowly emerged in the educational system, I believe it will never replace how teachers do their job in delivering knowledge. As teachers are living entities who can act based on the moral consideration, intelligence, and consciousness, which machine will never be able to substitute it.