In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays​ ​than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Individuals around the world in recent years have chosen to live by themselves instead of staying with their families which was the most popular choice in the past. From my perspective, this matter offers a lot of benefits to their residents and my reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are several merits to citizens living by themselves and one of the significant is freedom. To elaborate further, individuals do not need to concern themselves with the needs and schedules of others such as when their wives/husbands will arrive home, what they need to cook for them, etc. Moreover, it is easy for them to design their houses or rooms without having conflicts with others. For instance, when my brother studied at university, he needed to rent an apartment near his university and he told me that he was escalated and thrilled because he lived there alone and no one was in the room, which means he did not have to cook and look after other people. In addition, he purchased a lot of figures which were his personal preference and decorated them all over the place in his room. Additionally, another supportive reason contributes to my idea is that a number of accommodation are pet allowed. To explain in greater detail, residents can raise pets, namely dogs, cats, hamsters and fish in order to curb their loneliness because these creatures provide a sense of companionship to owners. Furthermore, taking pets outside gives opportunities to socialise and communicate with others more than walking alone, hence people can be able to make new friends easily. For example, when I studied at university, I lived in a pet-friendly apartment, therefore I brought my own cat into my room and I did totally not feel lonely. Besides, my cat helped me make new friends as those people always came and played with her. Overall, it is undeniable that many citizens choose to live alone as there are plenty of upsides. In my opinion, living alone offers us freedom and liberty; however, we can still buy pets if we feel a bit lonely, as many accommodation these days allow us to raise pets.