Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extend do you agree?

Currently, some existing penalties in several nations are considered uncivilized as they have tendencies to make harsh sentences like a long period of imprisonment for all kinds of offences. Although some people still believe that putting criminals into jail is the most effective way to give them a lecture, I disagree with this dilemma and perceive that it would be better to punish juvenile delinquents or mild lawbreakers with unpaid community tasks which could bring more positive results. The greatest benefit of allowing lawbreakers to engage in volunteer services is that it gives them a second chance to use their skills compensating for their previous misbehaviours. However, I assume that this type of penalty is only suitable for criminals who did not commit heinous crimes like robbery and murder, rape or abduction. Although the best method to protect other citizens against these brutal offenders is locking them away, it could adverse several consequences on some occasions. For instance, putting teenage shoplifter who was pushed to violate rules for their survival to prisons can even destroy the rest of their life because of the stigma they have to deal with after being released. It also creates more opportunities for them to exposure to more evil criminals and if they are not mature enough, they can be lured into more serious crimes after completing sentences like using or selling drugs. Moreover, punishing non-serious offenders with unpaid community work will give them a chance to access more honest people, thus, gradually raising their consciousness and transforming bad behaviour. Moreover, this movement also helps the government solve the shortage of staff doing arduous tasks such as repairing old roads or cleaning the long-graffitied walls. Otherwise, the government must carefully consider what kinds of voluntary jobs should be used as a punishment for each type of judgement as nobody wants offenders who have criminal records of domestic violence taking care of children in the orphan or the old in the nursing homes. In conclusion, besides convicting offenders, I think it is better to use charity work as a punishment and a further opportunity for offenders to use their potential abilities to aid the communities as long as the nature of their precious crimes is not deliberated.