Many people, including adults, find it overwhelming to speak or make a presentation in front of an audience. It is therefore argued that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this skill important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that the ability to speak or make a presentation in front of the public should be taught in school. Actually, a large number of individuals find it hard and tremendous due to anxiety caused by the fear to make mistakes. I am convinced that this skill is important to develop and I agree with the opinion that schools could help this process. The ability to speak in front of an audience is a skill that not everyone owns. It is important to improve this skill in the first years of school in order to make students able to familiarise themselves with this technique. In addition, I strongly believe that it is a useful skill, especially in the working world. For instance, a worker in his job could be in a situation where he has to explain his own ideas to the head and to the others stakeholders. I am of the opinion that it is helpful to learn this skill at school because students have the opportunity to improve it. Actually, if a subject linked with this ability will be added to the curriculum, it could be a huge advantage for students because they will have the chance to practice with other students without the fear to make mistakes. To exemplify, at school, I had a teacher who every week gave us a presentation to discuss in front of our classroom. In this way, I am accustomed to this technique and now I find it less overwhelming than others who had not my same teacher. To sum up, many people find it difficult to speak in front of an audience because of anxiety and a lack of experience. To solve this problem, it is suggested to teach this skill at school and I agree with this opinion because developing this ability is not only helpful for the formation of students, but also for their future career.