In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

Possessing a house is considered an essential achievement in people's lives as a symbol of success and stability. In this essay, I will explore the reasons behind this phenomenon as well as discuss my own perspectives regarding why it can be seen as a negative trend. To begin with, the primary impetus for people to own a house is that it provides a sense of independence. Renting a room can often be restricted as any further impairments or decorations made in a room require permission from the landlord first. For example, though the tenants wish to demolish the kitchen and merge it with the living room, they cannot proceed with the plan without compliance from the owner. Another aspect is for financial investments and asset purposes. Over time, most real estate tends to appreciate in value, meaning that the owners can enjoy a profit received from the sale of the estate. In contrast, if you rent a place where the ownership is up to the lessor, it means you cannot earn any benefit derived from the increase in value of that land. However, in my opinion, overemphasis on home ownership creates more financial burdens for individuals. In certain countries, for instance, there is a social value that adults should own and purchase a home to prepare for starting a family. Consequently, it hugely limits their financial flexibility and increases the risk of insolvency if they cannot manage their income well. To conclude, apart from being an ultimate goal of many people, owning a house also provides landlords with freedom and investments. Nevertheless, I am completely convinced that individuals should not be pressured to buy a home since it eventually causes several unfavourable aftermathsinstead.