In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In the world of competitive sports, there is a surge in the number of players consuming steroids to enhance their skills. This essay will highlight the reasons for this situation and how it can be eradicated. Firstly, athletes resort to taking performance-enhancing drugs due to the intensely competitive and commercialised nature of the industry. Sports in the modern age are profoundly ambitious and aggressive. For instance, sportspeople are often burdened with the responsibility of proving their calibre in a handful of opportunities that they receive. Hence, several personalities succumb to this pressure and end up using steroids to increase their stamina. In addition, the immense business-oriented outlook of the field of sports often compels athletes to use illegal external medication. As role models and public figures, it is apparent that sportsmen and women must often keep up with the necessity to stay relevant and the only manner in which they can maintain their fame and stature is through continuously playing the game regardless of their eligibility. Therefore, it is evident that players end up utilising steroids due to the aggressive character of the games which they play. In order to solve this issue, several measures can be taken by both players and authorities. In addition to physical training, sportsmen should receive coaching on self-regulation and the importance of preserving the spirit of the game. As an example, organising sporting camps that purely focus on discipline and integrity can be done at the school level to deviate youngsters from making unethical choices as sports personalities. Furthermore, authorities are required to generate firmer rules and regulations which prevent individuals from using performance-enhancing drugs in sports. While sporting bans currently exist to control the use of illegal substances, they should be harsher to an extent that any sporting person would consider twice before engaging in unlawful acts. Hence, it can be seen that there are solutions to the use of unlawful drugs which can be executed by sportsmen and authorities. In conclusion, it can be acknowledged that the increasing number of players taking steroids directly impacts the quality of the game they play. While the evolving character of sports leads many to act unethically to maintain their standing, it is also apparent that there are measures that can be taken to alleviate this situation. If players and officials act promptly, doping scandals in the sporting world will be reduced drastically.