Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

While some think that we are born with respective personality types due to genetics and there is no way to change it, others disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will elaborate on both views and give my opinion at the end. To start with, several natural characteristics are predisposed by genetics. In extreme cases, a few people have no choice but to become criminals. For example, it is widely known that psychopathic features are a result of a genetic defect which makes them have a sinister desire to harm others. As there is no cure for their genes, they often need to spend their lives in prisons to prevent repetitive crimes. Thus, several people are born with distinctive personality traits in their genes. On the other hand, personalities can be changed by environments for a vast majority of the population. This is because humans have abilities to adapt to new surroundings. For instance, many young people who study overseas tend to become more independent and mature after staying alone, apart from families. In addition, education can modify characteristics, too. Taking an example of children, they get punishments from their parents and teachers if they speak foul languages. Through this lesson, they will recognize that there would be negative impacts on them after using bad words, which may lead them not to use those words anymore. For these reasons, characteristics are changeable. To summarize, I agree to a certain extent that a few people’s personalities are not changeable because it is an innate feature of them in their genes. However, I think that for most of us, our character traits will be modified after going through different situations and through learning.