Many people feel that media coverage is becoming increasingly biased today. Why is this? What can be done to fix this problem?

Media is the fourth pillar of democracy which is crucial to any nation. However, many believe that the media is not showing the fair news that the public deserves to know. This essay will explicate the reasons for media being biased and throw light on the possible solutions to fix the problem. One of the major reasons behind the media ’s unfair coverage is the race of TRP between different media houses. Every media agency wants to rank higher on the TRP chart which needs them to have a higher audience. In order to attract viewers, journalists tend to modify the facts and misinterpret the information. For instance, if they present the real facts which every other news channel knows, it wouldn’t guarantee that people will choose their channel for the same news. In addition to that, they also earn money by displaying ads, so with higher TRP, they can attract more brands for advertisements. In short, more audience leads to a higher TRP which leads to more profit. In order to fix the problem, government and the general public should stand united against these media houses. The general public should stop watching channels that spread false information. This will drop and they will be forced to broadcast the fair news that society deserves. For instance, when a popular news channel presented false news about a city, the natives of that city banned watching the channel and eventually the channel had to apologise publically. Additionally, the government should implement strict laws regarding media coverage and impose heavy penalties and punishments against anyone who misinterprets the information. To summarize, media corporates are showing false news because the viewers are watching it, so people should move away from such channels and the government should take strict legal actions against a false interpretation of information.