Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

An increasing concern for many governments around the world is the rampant population growth. Authorities and citizens should work together in order to prevent the worst inconveniences. This essay will illustrate which are the major consequences and some solutions that can be adopted. To begin with, the major issue of this situation occurs when the demand exceeds the supply. Particularly, the necessity to build new accommodations has been leading to eerie environmental problems such as deforestation and air pollution. For example, trees have been cut down to create new infrastructures. These events, nonetheless, are destroying the balance between oxygen and CO2 in the ecosystem due to the fact that trees cannot take in oxygen and release CO2 anymore. Moreover, the more people there are, the more own cars they own. It is clear how it has a detrimental impact on our planet increasing the carbon footprint and gas emissions. With the aim to tackle this problem, however, authorities and citizens should play an active role in this changement Changement. First of all, governments should heavily subsidise campaigns which sensitise people about the importance of effective contraceptive methods and encourage the use of public transport. If people are completely informed about these methods, the rate of new births will drastically drop. People, however, not only have to follow the recommendations proposed by governments but have also to limit the use of cars. Emblematic is the example of China, which in the early ‘90s had to impose a limit on the number of children per family. To conclude, what overpopulation does is increase, the already, astronomically high level of air and soil pollution. I nonetheless believe that more sensitise campaigns, public transport, and awareness among people could tackle this issue.