In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that the majority of the future vehicles will be self-driven, and drivers will no longer be needed on buses and lorries. Although there are substantiated arguments on both sides, I believe that the advantages of reduction in human-related errors and reduced costs overweigh the disadvantages of using automated driverless vehicles on the road. The primary advantage of utilizing driverless vehicles is that this can minimize man-made accidents attributed to insufficient rest and careless mistakes of the driver. By using a well-formulated computer program, many human errors could be prevented. Night-time drivers are a striking example. They often work in shifts, which is difficult for them to have adequate rest, thus increasing the possibility of road accidents due to fatigue. Furthermore, automated machines can release the redundant labour force, allowing more human resources for other sectors of the community such as retail and healthcare. By doing so, transportation fees will be reduced, and all sectors of the community will benefit from this change. While some may raise the issue of safety and liability in automated vehicles with no drivers, having a look at the case of schools from other industries and their grounds will collapse. For example, many planes and trains are now auto driven without an actual driver and are well accepted for everyday use. By taking up careful precautionary measures, it is unlikely any salient problems will arise with driverless vehicles. To conclude, it is my firm belief that the merits of automobiles without drivers would outweigh the disadvantages, by significantly lowering the chances of human-related accidents and providing human resources to other sectors of society.