Many people these days have computer, laptop and telephone at home for work.Do you think working fron home has more advantage or disadvantage?

The topic concerning the benefits for employees working from home never fails to attract the public's attention. Although many people criticize working from home has modified the office's culture negatively, I believe the pros outweigh the cons. First of all, the disadvantages of doing tasks at home include reducing coherence among the colleagues and impairing health conditions. With the option of staying at home for jobs, employees tend to communicate with their colleagues through computer software. Having brief discussions through chatting tools such as Teams and Skype and holding conferences by Zoom are convincing examples to name a few. A study from the University of London pointed out that relying on electronic tools, instead of face-to-face communication impairs communication efficacy. This deteriorates the collaborating quality and thus the colleague's efficacy. Besides, sitting at your flat all day leads to poor social well-being and physical health. Not only would employees reduce their physical activities such as moving around the office or walking for the transportation, but they may also eat more snacks due to a less intensive environment compared to the office. This increases their health burdens such as the risk of cardiovascular diseases. The lack of verbal communication may also depress an individual. Thus, in long term, working from home may harm health. In contrast, it is reasonable for me to believe remote office contributes to the advancement of working efficacy and safeguarding the public's health. Compared to a strict office, working at home is comparatively chiller. Workers have to get up early for transport to the job location in the past practice, while with a laptop and a telephone only, they can complete various tasks by accessing the company's cloud drive and applications, and seeking help or discussing with their colleagues instantly. What is more, under globalization, some departments need to reach overseas clients and company partners out of office hours due to the time zone issue.. Employees can manage their time more effectively and flexibly if they can work remotely and thus be energized with sufficient rest. Also, with more commuters remaining in their home, the risk of spreading infectious diseases is greatly reduced. During the COVID-19 pandemic season, when the public transport is crowded with the white collars and the office facilities such as the toilet and the pantry are shared by more employees, the risk of spreading germs rises. For example, the COVID-19 cases were greatly reduced by 75% one month after launching the policy of compulsory working from home. This reflects dragging more people to stay home can lower disease spreading. To conclude, there are several concerns for a full remote office with computers, laptops and telephones. However, these can be avoided with the self-discipline of the workers in monitoring their own health and the engagement of the employees in their work. Obviously, for the future of our society, the advantages clearly outweigh the disadvantages.