Some people's think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however say that cooperation and team working skills are more important.

Although, it is sometimes believed that pupils should compete with their colleagues, other people are of the opinion that the focus should be on cooperation. In my opinion, competition helps children learn the most important skill for their future life. On the one hand, some individuals think that children who learn to complete with other children often do wetter in school and I agree. In other words, the competition between these classmates motivates pupils to perform better in their studies. This is also evident even when they take part in sports competitions. For example, a study carried out in a school showed that children who set targets among themselves in exams came out better than they were in their academics in the previous session. Furthermore, teaching children to be competitive in school is a healthy skill needed in adult life, as they will be in competition with others in the job market. On the other hand, it is often thought that schools ought to encourage pupils to cooperate with others. This is necessary as people neither live nor work away from others. Working as a team will teach them to communicate better with other people and deal with confrontations and as such make them healthier individuals. Another reason why working as a team is useful is that, they will learn history negotiate to complete a task and this is essential for them to learn for their future life. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that children stand a better chance to succeed both in school and later in life if they are encouraged to compete against each other.