Today, TV channels broadcast men’s sports shows more than women’s sport shows. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal showtime for each?

Sports competitions played by men are more televised than ones played by women. The paragraphs below will outline why cultural sexism and financial investments are influencing this scenario; additionally, affirming that the showtime of both gender games should be similar to incentivize female's presence in all sectors and to show younger woman they are capable. To begin with, there are a myriad of reasons to justify why male sports have more space in television than female ones. At first, historically, women's role in society were to take care of their family. The games they were allowed to play often involved dolls and any physical contact was discouraged, as it was considered manly. As a result, this sexist structure has perpetuated and is still seen in different moments, including sports, as many individuals believe that watching these matches are not worth it, arguing that women cannot play. Secondly, owing to a huge financial investment in men's game determined by a significant audience, TV channels prefer to broadcast them instead of women's, as the latter is, comparatively, less profitable. Despite this scenario, the television network should invest more in female games, in order to equalize their screen time. The main motive is to simply incentivize gender equality. Many fenomenal female athletes are not being valued or highlighted exclusively for lack of opportunity. Furthermore, another cogent reason is because it gives the change for young girls to identify and feel capable of trying. For instance, in the Olympics of 2020, the Brazilian professional skateboarder Rayssa Leal has encouraged thousands of teenage girls to try skateboarding. To conclude, due to a historical background and lack of investment, women's sports shows presence in television are limited. However, as a way to combat gender bias and to awake love for sports in other youngsters, TV channels should provide these shows more time.