Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that children should be taught by parents how to be good citizens, while others think that they can better learn this from school. I believe that although parents are the first teacher to teach moral values to their, children learn various social skills and study various lessons on social skills which help them to become good members of society. On the one hand, some argue that children can learn how to be good citizens from their parents because guardians are the first teacher and role models who can teach them how to behave in society. Moreover, children spend more time at home than at school so they behave the same as they observe at home. For example, it is surveyed in India that those children are more well behaved whose parents behave nicely with family members than those parents who use aggressive words at home. However, only those children whose parents have good moral standards are well behaved. On the other hand, children can learn better about how to become responsible members of society by attending school. Schools have a particular curriculum that children have to study and behave respectfully with everyone regardless of their family background. Moreover, literate people know how to talk when they go outside and have very less criminal cases. For instance, Tamil Nadu is a crime-free state in India where 99 percent of people are well educated and Bihar is a state in India where 60 per cent of people are uneducated so the crime rate is higher there. In conclusion, while parents teach how to become a good member of society from an early age, I believe children can better learn by studying the ethics syllabus in school.