In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the distant future, some people believe that printed newspapers and books will be replaced by free reading access on the internet. Although it might be possible that online reading will occupy a huge part of the industry, I partially agree with the presented statement. The creation of the internet gave us unlimited access to all sources of media including books and newspapers that are available for further usage in a couple of clicks. Hence, many people find paying for information a waste of money as they can access the same information for free. As a result, most bookstores are calling for bankruptcy due to low revenue in sales. Nevertheless, I think it will not kill the entire industry, although it might drop in sales, some people would always choose printed ones because they give a unique experience as opposed to digitalized ones. Printed information can be favourable for some individuals as they give some feeling of attachment to the work. Apart from that, people find it hard to concentrate on reading in smartphones owing to constant notifications and messages that can appear on the screen, therefore people are inclined towards reading printed books. For instance, there has been going a trend, where people try to minimize the usage of the internet and to find alternatives for it. On the other hand, when you buy a book, you also appreciate the author of this by buying. In conclusion, although online reading is taking over the industry, it is unable to give such an experience as real books are able to give. Hence, many will prefer to buy as it represents their appreciation of the work.