In many countries traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. This has negative effects on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is often argued that in many nations, the replacement of traditional diets by convenience food has certain unfavorable impacts on both families and societies. I partially agree with this view because fast meals cause serious health problems, although they also offer convenience in modern lifestyles. To begin with, there is no doubt that franchised international fast- food chains, such as McDonald’s and Pizza Hut, make modern life more convenient and enjoyable. They not only provide delicious dishes with a wide variety of choices, from fried chicken to Italian-style pizzas, but also serve them quickly without letting customers wait for a long time. Furthermore, the standardized food process makes the price affordable and meals easily accessible, and as a result, people of different ages are able to prepare it in different kitchen settings. On the other hand, excessively consuming processed food causes numerous health problems for individuals and society as the major components of it usually consist of many sugars and fats. To be specific, fast meals, such as fried chicken and bubble tea, have large quantities of saturated fats and sweeteners, increasing the risk of blood vessel blockage and leading to heart disease or diabetes. Consequently, if most people choose internationally franchised quick meals rather than traditional food, their families would have to pay more medical expenses once they are diagnosed with metabolic diseases, eventually putting tremendous financial pressure on the healthcare system. To conclude, while fast food culture makes meals affordable and easy to prepare, I partially agree that this has more adverse effects as eaters may be more likely to have chronic diseases, which place significant financial burden on families and societies.